31 C
Monday, June 14, 2021

Sample Page Title

Must read

NEW YORK — Edmonton Oilers middle Connor McDavid, Toronto Maple Leafs middle Auston Matthews and Colorado Avalanche ahead Nathan MacKinnon have been named the finalists for the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP.

McDavid, thought of the probably winner of the award, dominated the 2020-21 scoring race with 105 factors in 56 video games — 21 greater than runner-up and Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl, who received MVP honors final yr. A McDavid win would make the Oilers the primary workforce with totally different Hart Trophy winners in consecutive seasons because the Boston Bruins in 1968-69 (Phil Esposito) and 1969-70 (Bobby Orr).

McDavid, who’s Edmonton’s captain, received the Hart Trophy in 2017 and completed third within the voting in 2019. He can be the fifth participant in NHL historical past to seize the award a number of instances earlier than his twenty fifth birthday, becoming a member of Wayne Gretzky (six instances), Orr (three), Gordie Howe (two) and Alex Ovechkin (two).

Matthews scored a league-leading 41 targets in 52 video games to assist Toronto earn the highest seed within the North Division. The Scottsdale, Arizona, native turned the primary Maple Leafs participant to guide the league in targets since Gaye Stewart in 1945-46.

MacKinnon had 20 targets and 45 assists in 48 video games to tempo the Avalanche’s top-ranked offense and assist them win the Presidents’ Trophy for the most effective workforce through the common season. He is a finalist for the third time in 4 years.

Colorado teammate Cale Makar is a finalist for the Norris Trophy because the league’s greatest defenseman, which just like the Hart is voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Reigning playoff MVP Victor Hedman of the defending Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay Lightning and Adam Fox of the New York Rangers are the opposite Norris finalists.

Avalanche goaltender Philipp Grubauer is a finalist for the Vezina Trophy, voted on by basic managers, together with VegasMarc-Andre Fleury and Tampa Bay’s Andrei Vasilevskiy. Captains Mark Stone of the Golden Knights, Patrice Bergeron of the Bruins and Aleksander Barkov of the Panthers are finalists for the Selke Trophy for greatest defensive ahead.

Jack Adams Award finalists for Coach of the Year are set to be introduced Friday. The league plans to disclose award winners through the playoff semifinals and Stanley Cup Final.

Source hyperlink


Trendy Voice

It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

%d bloggers like this: