Sample Page Title

Must read

NEW DELHI: Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath, who is spearheading the BJP’s campaign in the state, will contest the upcoming assembly election from Gorakhpur Urban.
This was announced by BJP’s UP incharge Dharmendra Pradhan as the party released the first list of candidates for the first and second phase of elections in the state.
Deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya will contest the elections from Siratu in Prayagraj.
Assembly polls live blog
In the first list announced for Uttar Pradesh assembly polls, more than 60 per cent of the names are OBC and SC. Of the 48 candidates in list, 10 are women. Out of 107 candidates, 63 are sitting MLAs while 20 have been dropped.
Voting in Gorakhpur will be held in the sixth phase on March 3 while Sirathu will go to polls on February 27.

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Polls

Earlier, there were speculations that BJP may field Yogi Adityanath from the temple town of Ayodhya or Mathura. However, he BJP finally decided to field him from Gorakhpur, which has been a stronghold of the UP chief minister.
The BJP, which has been stung by exodus of several prominent OBC leaders, has tried to counter its negative impact by giving tickets to as many as 44 candidates from the community in the first list.
Soon after the saffron party announced the list, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav took a dig at Yogi Adityanath and said, “The BJP has sent him back to his home.”

Source link

Trendy Voice

It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article